Henry H. Arnhold

Henry H. Arnhold

Henry H. Arnhold, born in Dresden in 1921, comes from the Dresden banking family of Arnhold. One of five children of Heinrich Arnhold and his wife Lisa, née Mattersdorff, he grew up in the family villa in Dresden’s Tiergartenstrasse and went to school at the Kreuzschule. Heinrich Arnhold died in 1935, at a time when the persecution of Jews was gathering pace. The bank fell victim to ‘Aryanisation’ and the family in Germany found itself exposed to increasing reprisals. When the Second World War broke out, Henry Arnhold was visiting a school friend in Norway. He remained there, but was arrested after the invasion of Norway by German troops in April 1940. Fleeing first to Sweden and then to Cuba, he managed to reach the USA in April 1942, where the rest of his family had meanwhile emigrated.

After a brief period of study at UCLA and three years’ service in the US Army, he entered the family business in New York, the investment bank Arnhold & S. Bleichroeder, where he served as chairman from 1960.

After the peaceful revolution of 1989 that led to the reunification of Germany, the Arnhold family resumed its tradition of civic engagement and patronage, supporting the restoration of the Georg-Arnold swimming baths and the rebuilding of the Frauenkirche and the synagogue. Since then, Henry Arnhold has been an extremely generous sponsor of student exchanges between New York and Dresden and patron of Dresden’s museums. In May 2011, TU Dresden made him an ‘honorary senator’, a title it had previously awarded to his grandfather, father and uncle. Henry Arnhold holds the Saxon Order of Merit and the Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

 

 

Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold

Henry H. Arnhold

Henry H. Arnhold

Henry H. Arnhold, 1921 in Dresden geboren, stammt aus der Dresdner Bankiersfamilie Arnhold. Als eines von fünf Kindern von Heinrich Arnhold und seiner Frau Lisa, geborene Mattersdorff, wuchs er zunächst in der Villa der Familie in der Dresdner Tiergartenstraße auf und besuchte die Kreuzschule. Nach dem Tod Heinrich Arnholds 1935 und unter dem Eindruck der sich verschärfenden Judenverfolgung, der das Bankhaus durch „Arisierung“ zum Opfer fiel, sah sich die Familie in Deutschland zunehmenden Repressalien ausgesetzt. Zum Zeitpunkt des Ausbruchs des Zweiten Weltkriegs war Henry Arnhold zu Besuch bei einem Schulfreund in Norwegen, wo er zunächst blieb. Nach der Besetzung Norwegens durch deutsche Truppen im April 1940 wurde er verhaftet, floh nach Schweden und gelangte über Kuba im April 1942 in die USA, wohin seine restliche Familie inzwischen emigriert war.

Nach einem kurzen Studium an der University of California in Los Angeles und drei Jahren im Dienst der U.S. Army trat er in das Familienunternehmen in New York, die Investmentbank Arnhold & S. Bleichroeder, ein, wo er ab 1960 als Chairman diente.

Nach der friedlichen Revolution von 1989 führte die Familie Arnhold in Dresden ihr traditionell gepflegtes bürgerschaftliches Engagement und Mäzenatentum fort und unterstützte die Sanierung des Georg-Arnhold-Bades und den Wiederaufbau von Frauenkirche und Synagoge. Seitdem hat Henry Arnhold den Austausch von Studierenden zwischen New York und Dresden und die Dresdner Museumslandschaft in großzügiger Weise gefördert. Im Mai 2011 ernannte ihn die TU Dresden zum Ehrensenator, ein Titel, der bereits seinem Großvater, Vater und Onkel verliehen worden war. Henry Arnhold ist Träger des Sächsischen Verdienstordens und des Großen Verdienstkreuzes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold Henry H. Arnhold

Aktuelles

Ringvorlesung