Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School 2017

Materiality

New Perspectives on Culture and Technology


18–29 September 2017


Against the backdrop of continual technological innovations, the question of what constitutes ‘material’ has gained fundamental significance. How does the perception of materials, colours, bodies, texts, and objects change when the materiality is transformed, loses or gains substance, and emerges in an ever-changing variety of new forms? The question of materiality goes to the very heart of the natural sciences and humanities. After all, the way we look at material things is not only influenced by cultural and historical factors, but is also weighted with meaning and significance: nature, culture, and technology all have their own individual relationship to ‘material things’, with each creating its own conceptual framework and ways of accessing the physical world.

The aim of the Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School 2017 is to create space for the various perspectives on the theme of materiality that have emerged from culture, the natural world, and technology, while fostering an extensive exchange of ideas between them.

>> Call for applications

The Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School is an interdisciplinary programme for young academics and museum professionals. It takes its name from the honorary fellow of the TU Dresden, Henry Arnhold, whose philanthropic spirit and close ties to Dresden, the city of his birth, have inspired diverse partnerships between the city’s cultural and academic institutions. As a joint project between the TU Dresden, Deutsches Hygiene-Museum, Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr, Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek, and Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, the Dresden Summer School draws from the resources of a broad network of major partners. The project aims to bring together high-level speakers and experts from the participating institutions to discuss topical issues relating to how museums and libraries perceive themselves, their mission, and the state of collections and exhibitions in the future. The discussions cover underlying theoretical concepts but also include concrete practical approaches.

Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home Home

Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School 2017

Materialität

Neue Perspektiven auf Kultur und Technologie


18. bis 29. September 2017

Vor dem Hintergrund immer neuer technologischer Entwicklungen ist die Frage, was „Materie“ ist, von grundlegender Bedeutung: Wie verändert sich die Wahrnehmung von Stoffen, Farben, von Körpern, Texten und Objekten, wenn sich Materialität verändert, verflüchtigt, verdichtet und sich in immer neuen Formen zu erkennen gibt? Die Frage nach der Materialität trifft Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften in ihrem Kern. Der Blick auf die stoffliche Beschaffenheit der Dinge ist dabei nicht nur kulturell und historisch geprägt, sondern auch mit Sinn und Bedeutung behaftet: Natur, Kultur und Technik haben ein je eigenes Verhältnis zu den „materiellen Dingen“, sie konstituieren je eigene Begriffe und Zugänge zur Welt.

Die Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School 2017 möchte den unterschiedlichen Perspektiven von Kultur, Natur und Technik auf den Themenkomplex Materialität Raum geben und einen intensiven Austausch zwischen ihnen ermöglichen.

>> Programm

Die Henry Arnhold Dresden Summer School ist ein interdisziplinäres Programm für junge Wissenschaftler und Museumsfachleute. Sie trägt den Namen des Ehrensenators der TU Dresden Henry Arnhold, dessen philantropischer Geist und enge Verbundenheit zu seinem Geburtsort Dresden die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Kultur- und Wissenschaftsinstitutionen der Stadt in vielfältiger Weise inspiriert. Als gemeinsames Projekt der TU Dresden, des Deutschen Hygiene-Museums Dresden, des Militärhistorischen Museums der Bundeswehr, der Sächsischen Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden und der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden kann die Dresden Summer School auf ein Netzwerk hochrangiger Partner zurückgreifen. Ziel ist es, gemeinsam mit den Experten der beteiligten Häuser sowie mit hochrangigen Referenten aktuelle Fragen des Selbstverständnisses und der zukünftigen Ausrichtung von Sammlungs- und Ausstellungsinstitutionen zu diskutieren. Dabei sollen grundsätzliche theoretische Konzeptionen ebenso eine Rolle spielen wie konkrete praktische Handlungsansätze.

Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start Start

Aktuelles